2016 Television Critics Association Awards nominations

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2016

EW – With Emmy season in full swing, the Television Critics Association has announced the roster of nominees for its 32nd annual awards ceremony, boosting HBO and FX to the top of the pack with 12 and 11 overall nominations, respectively.


While HBO and FX lead in total nominations, USA’s Mr. Robot, a first-time nominee, garnered the most individual nods for a series (tied with FX’s The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story), earning recognition in Individual Achievement in Drama (Rami Malek), Outstanding New Program, Outstanding Achievement in Drama, and Program of the Year.


Elsewhere in Program of the Year, HBO scored a nomination for Game of Thrones, while FX landed three series amid the category’s seven slots: Fargo, The Americans, and The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. Lifetime’s UnREAL and Netflix’s Making a Murderer round out the list of Program of the Year contenders.


The CW also made a strong showing with the TCA, earning three total nominations for its Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, including in Individual Achievement in Comedy (Rachel Bloom) and Outstanding New Program. It’s worth noting that each of the nominees in the latter category come from smaller networks, as series from the usual suspects like ABC, HBO, and other major TV players are noticeably absent. WGN America (Underground), Netflix (Marvel’s Jessica Jones, Masters of None), USA (Mr. Robot), and Lifetime (UnREAL), however, picked up the slack.


Bryan Cranston (HBO’s All the Way), Constance Wu (ABC’s Fresh Off the Boat), Aziz Ansari (Netflix’s Masters of None), and Samantha Bee (TBS’ Full Frontal with Samantha Bee) notably earned nominations in the individual categories.


“TCA members have recognized a record number of first-time nominees for this year’s awards. In our 32-year history this is one of the most diverse slates of genres and programs we’ve ever had,” TCA President, Amber Dowling, said in a statement. “It’s been a banner year for fresh, noteworthy content and we’re looking forward to seeing which shows and actors grab top prizes following the difficult votes ahead.”


The TCA will honor a mystery guest with a Career Achievement Award at the upcoming ceremony.


In 2015, Empire, Inside Amy Schumer, and Better Call Saul dominated the ceremony. Empire won Program of the Year, while Better Call Saul nabbed top honors in the Outstanding New Program category. Amy Schumer won for Individual Achievement in Comedy, while her popular sketch series won for Outstanding Achievement in Comedy.


The 32nd TCA Awards ceremony will be held Aug. 6 at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. Jane the Virgin’s Jaime Camil is set to host the event.



“Crazy Ex-Girlfriend,” The CW
“Marvel’s Jessica Jones,” Netflix
“Master of None,” Netflix
“Mr. Robot,” USA
“Underground,” WGN America
“UnREAL,” Lifetime

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.